Chasing Mavericks

When it gomes to movies, I don’t cry that often. When I see something sad I just think to myself, it is just a movie. But there is this one movie I saw. I think the only reason I cried was because I knew it was based on a true story. The movie is called Chasing Mavericks. When young Jay Moriarity discovers that the mythic Mavericks surf break, one of the biggest waves on Earth, exists just miles from his Santa Cruz home, he enlists the help of local legend Frosty Hesson to train him to survive it. (imdb)

Frosty then helps and trains him. He eventually gets tha chance to ride one of those crazy waves. At first the movie seems to end well. But just before the finish. Jay dies. If I understood the movie correctly, he went diving and pushed himself too far. Being underwater for longer than he should have. This made me cry.

Young person, with so much ahead of him. And he dies. Not fair at all. He was just going for his dream which in some ways killed him. He was only 22.

Jay-Moriarty-and-Frosty
The real Jay and Frosty
One Reply to “Chasing Mavericks”

Leave a Reply

